About us

Established in 1962 by the efforts of two remarkable ostomates, Mrs Ella Smith and Mrs Rose Hudson, the Colostomy Association of South Australia was designed to provide support to fellow ostomates through guest speaker information sessions.

In 1975, the Australian Government commenced the Stoma Appliance Scheme to provide subsidised appliances and pharmaceuticals to those living with a stoma. As the scheme is delivered through ostomy associations, this added a new dimension to the management role and responsibilities of Colostomy SA. Continued development since then has allowed the organisation to successfully manage a growing membership base, as well as increase in the number and variety of appliances and pharmaceuticals available to ostomates.

In 2014 the Association changed its name to the Ostomy Association of S.A. and we continue to provide support and services to around 2000 ostomates. Managed by a Management Committee, Executive Meetings are held on a monthly basis, Committee Meetings on a bi-monthly basis, with our Annual General Meeting taking place in October each year.

President:   Bruce Harvey
Vice President:  Warwick Williams
Treasurer/Secretary: Ruth Horne

Des Waters, Karen Harvey, June Higgins, Alison Luscombe

Back Row
June Higgins, Alison Luscombe, Karen Harvey; Ruth Horne (Secretary/Treasurer)

Front Row
Des Waters; Bruce Harvey (President); Warwick Williams (Vice-President)